Flab = Food Lab

There is something enthralling about watching a meal come together especially when you are working with a variety of ingredients; from fresh herbs and prime cuts of meat to freshly ground pepper.

When I am in the kitchen I like to experiment, trying my hands at preparing differentย  ingredients and attempting new cooking techniques. Sometimes my experiments yield delicious outcomes and other times it yields disaster! But today, I am focusing on my more successful experiments: Christmas Lunch 2010.

The day started quietly enough, it was Christmas day but neither Femi nor I were up to visiting anyone nor did we want anyone visiting us, truth be told. We looked forward to a quiet, lazy day in.

And so I thought to myself, “I’ll boil the obligatory rice and whip up some tomatoe sauce and maybe toss some chicken in the oven”, that shouldn’t take too long should it?

And so I busied myself with prepping the ingredients and the wheels began to turn in my head as I remember an episode of the Food Network’s “Everyday Italian” where Giada De Laurentiis made this amazing venison medallion sauce. I didn’t have any such “posh” cut of meat in my freezer but I did however have some minute steak which were medallion shaped and this is how I “invented” my very own beef medallion black pepper sauce; so much for an uncomplicated lunch.

I was on a roll and my mind raced with so many ideas. Next were the chicken fillets, well this would be a cinch, I had seen Anthony Worrall Thompson stuff chicken breasts with seared seasonal vegetables and cheese and I had multicoloured silicone food loops that would be perfect for securing the chicken. This was turning out to be so much more fun than I had anticipated.

And on I went until I ended up with a veritable feast of stuffed chicken breasts, beef medallions in black pepper sauce, potato and chicken casserole, steamed rice garnished with fresh parsley, and a warm salad. For dessert, I had purchased a red velvet cake from “Cupcake Couture”; Blueberry and White chocolate cake and Banana raisin cake from “Seye Bakes”, and chocolate & mixed nuts from the Shops.

It turned out well actually, if I do say so myself. And eventually, we did have a guest over. And all three of us tucked in merrily.

It was a succesful day in Flab ๐Ÿ™‚

47 thoughts on “Flab = Food Lab

  1. Wow, I stumbled on your first entry and really I have made a terrible mistake!!! My mouth is watering and Im also excited about opportunities in the kitchen AND IM FASTING. Nice, real nice. I think Im going to like this website, Ive got a few tips from food network too. Good job sweety

  2. I’m so hungry right now! Hmmm, where was I on Christmas day…..
    Seriously though, great job Nkem! I LOVE this website already.

    Ade

  3. This is seriously inspiring, now u just have to organise to have same delivered to me this hour cos u ve left my mouth watering.

  4. Trust you, Wish I was your guest on christmas day…knowing how magical u can be in Flab(kitchen):). Keep it up for we all love good food!

  5. Wow! This is actually incredible ฤ…ฯ€ฯ‘ unbelievable! This could actually turn out Tฬ…ฬฒฬถฬฅฦ อกฬด be โ”ฬฒAฬ…ฬฒฬถโ”“ show on tv , just what we need. Now, Aฬ…ฬฒฬถฬฅโ™ hungry! Job well done! *thumb’s up*

    • You have an open invitation my dear. Just say the word. The beauty of cooking is that there are so many versatile ways to prepare food. Keep coming back for more ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Nkemdilim!!! … Ok i’ll try not too get too emotional here, although food does have a way of letting my emotions run riot…

    1. Your blog is really nice… the literature is simple and engaging at the same time.
    2. I’ve come to realize that inspiration to be creative with food actually comes when you start the cooking… and sometimes your menu evolves as you go along and all the stuff you watch on food channels come tumbling out.
    3. I remember the days of beef ragout and basmati rice! How come you’re not inviting me now to sample your more exotic dishes??
    4. I see Doreen was the lucky Christmas day guest…hrmmhp!
    4. Expecting my invitation to your next inspirational ‘cook-in’ ๐Ÿ™‚
    6. Well done!

    • My darling! I am so happy you like it! I forgot that I made ragout for you! Oh my that feels like a lifetime away! You are more than welcome to lunch. I’ll get in touch and we’ll figure out a date ok? Hugs

  7. I am going to be a regular visitor because I like experimenting new ideas in the kitchen when it comes to cooking. I would like to prepare a very special dish for my king and I’s 15 year wedding anniversary in April this year so Nkem, I am looking forward to good ideas from this website. Great job girl and keep up the good work. I am very much impressed.

    Well done.

    Mrs McCormack

    • Aunty Monica you are welcome! I look forwardng tosharing more stuff with you. Congratulationson your marriage milestone!! How aesome. I will be delighted to share ideas for that special occassionwith your King. Hugs

  8. That’s a great looking spread luv! I humbly demand an invitation.

    Can cooking possibly be therapeutic? You almost get a relief when you’re done and all looks (and tastes) heavenly!

    Great work!

    • Dear Debbie, it would good fun to have you over. We have shared loads of special moments over unch (remember?). Cooking is therapeutic when it all goes well. Yes, it is very rewarding to see the finished dishes. More rewarding to see empty dishes and happy smiles ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. What a well rounded woman you are . You remind me of an unforced naturistic cuisiniere.I can almost smell the fresh herbs.You are the Nigerian Nigella Lawson. All you need now is your TV programme. I see a change of profession coming up. You are truly a well rounded woman, lucky husband.
    keep it up

    • Dear Patience, thank you very much for your generpus compliments! Youare the fourth person to say that I shoudl do TV. I have never really considered it. I love creating. Thank you. Hugs

  10. Well done, me bebe, so so proud of u! Finally… what more can I say? Keep the flag flying, the lord will surely continue to use His remnant to take giant strides iJN. Big hugs, u know who

  11. My…oh my..oh my!Girl!I didn’t know you could whip up a culinary storm like this!
    Mucho bien!Now i know just where we’ll hook up…your kitchen,honey!Will visit you when i’m back in town!

  12. And to think I was with you while you were shopping for all the ingredients (I suppose) and you did not extend that warm invite … but yeah I had to leave town for xmas so that gives. I do enjoy the excitement of ‘Good Food’ and am even trying my hands on Jamie Oliver’s recipes especially his 30 Minute Meals – excellent recipe for the working lady!

    Great work with the Xmas Lunch and the presentation looks excellent.

    And finally, Wow! I think your blog is fab and I do give you the thumbs up!!!

    • Lol! Yes indeed! You were with me while I shopped for some of the ingredients (good memory!) Can’t wait to hear the outcome of your experiments. Am sure you’ll come up with “pucker” meals! Thanks for the compliment; it means a lot ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Mouthwatering deliciousness. That’s what it looked like to me. You’ve come a long way from the mircowave pizza and noodles you used to make for me.

  14. WOW I’M REALLY IMPRESSED WITH THE QUICK RECIPE SUBSTITUTION, THE KEY IS NOT TO GO TOO FAR OF THE ORIGINAL RECIPE WHICH COULD THROW THE ENTIRE DISH OFF…I HAD TRIED SUCH ENDEAVOR WITH A BRAISED STUFFED LAMB WHICH WAS SUPPOSED TO BE MARINATED IN A HOME MADE SAVORY AU JUS…BUT INSTEAD I WENT WITH A MUCH SWEETER ROUTE AND SUBBED IN HONEY, BROWN SUGAR, BASIL, GARLIC AND RED WINE CONCOCTION…MAGNIFICO!!!
    THE FUN IN COOKING IS ENDLESS…JUST LIKE ART…YOU CAN NEVER RUN OUT OF IMAGINATION AND CREATIVITY. KEEP ON KEEPING ON ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yep! Mandy and I have been toying with the “come dine with me” idea. Greg is an awesome Chef (he’s also my cuz :))

Leave a Reply

