Hair Today Gone Tomorrow

If you are like me, you would have embarked on a long journey with your hair and would have had good times and the “what-on-earth-were-you-thinking times”.

Mine has been quite the road trip. As most of us do, I started life with a decent head of hair; full curly and quite unruly. After surviving the age of natural hair management by straightening it out with a hot comb, weaving it (also known as corn rows) and threading it (an african hairstyle that, involves a special technique of wrapping the entire length of hair in cotton or plastic thread), I resorted to the not-so-natural way of managing it using relaxers. After relaxing my hair, I ventured into the world of weaves and braids. I assure you that each hair making style/technique listed has been painful and time-consuming and yet I have put up with this inconvenience for years (please don’t ask why).

Curly and Kinky a 2005 hair experiment with a kinky weave

My hair in "feathered" braids (2010)

Big long braids (2010)

Corn rows with extensions (April 30, 2007)

Long straight (side parted full head weave) (2007)

A failed attempt at a Kerry Hilson hair cut (November 2010)

Braids with human hair extensions (ths hair stye is known as "pick n drop" in Nigeria) (December 2010)

Rocking a fringed weave (March 2011)

I am at cross roads in my hair sojourn; ironically I am at a point wear I prefer to wear my hair naturally. After years of relaxing, braiding, fixing weaves and everything in between, I am trying to reverse some of the hair damage that has resulted from my hair experiments. If you gasped audibly, I wouldn’t blame you. It is a very unnerving situation to deal with.

But it’s not all gloom and doom, I have discovered many products that could help repair hair damage and loss. (Please note that I am self-confessed hair product junky and strongly recommend that you get proper medical consultation if you suffer from severe hair loss). In my quest to restore my hair to its former glory, I have used the organic root stimulator range; I wasn’t entirely satisfied with the outcome and then I moved on to the Dr. Miracle’s range and there were no real miracles there for me either. I now use the Groganics range and I have to say that I am quite pleased with the outcome so far. Although, I have to add that I have also stepped down the number of times I relax my hair in year to just once and I use an amazing gentle relaxer from the Kanellia range; I believe that this has improved the overall texture and welfare of my hair.

Wigged out - January 2011

Wigged out II - I currently alternate between this look and wearing my natural hair as shown below

Au naturel (July 2011)

Au naturel (using Femi's tie as a hair band 🙂 ) (July 2011)

I have close friends who wear their hair completely natural; free from any chemical processing and I have to say that they look amazing. However, I haven’t been so bold as to take that step just yet. Maintaining natural hair requires a good measure of discipline and the use of natural/organic products such as shea butter and castor oil etc and to be frank, I don’t have the fortitude to follow through.

If you have been endowed with great hair, please don’t take it for granted as I did;  nourish it and care for it. Use products that suit your hair and follow a good diet.

Trust me, you do not want to have a hair today gone tomorrow episode.

I would love to hear about your hair adventures and pictures would be great too!!!

20 thoughts on “Hair Today Gone Tomorrow

  1. Lovely post, Nkem. I wish you all the best as you continue your journey to fully healthy hair. Your hair is looking good, BTW.

    Having healthy hair – whether relaxed or natural – takes time and effort. It doesn’t just happen – well, maybe for some lucky few. LOL!!

    I’ve been on both sides of the relaxed-natural divide. And while I believe that my hair is much healthier natural, if I don’t pay attention to it, the result is dull, dry, breaking hair that does not appear to be growing.

    I’ve decided to braid my hair less and so am exploring styling options for natural hair. Luckily, there are a lot of tutorials on YouTube (www.youtube.com) and I highly recommend that anyone who is stuck for ideas, check this resource out.

    Ore

    • Hi Ore! Thanks for the insight! I’ll definitely check out the videos to see if I can snag any tips. And you are right, taking care if hair demands some care and attention. xxx

  2. Lovely post, Nkem. I wish you all the best as you continue your journey to fully healthy hair. Your hair is looking good, BTW.

    Having healthy hair – whether relaxed or natural – takes time and effort. It doesn’t just happen – well, maybe for some lucky few. LOL!!

    I’ve been on both sides of the relaxed-natural divide. And while I believe that my hair is much healthier natural, if I don’t pay attention to it, the result is dull, dry, breaking hair that does not appear to be growing.

    I’ve decided to braid my hair less and so am exploring styling options for natural hair. Luckily, there are a lot of tutorials on YouTube (www.youtube.com) and I highly recommend that anyone who is stuck for ideas, check this resource out.

  3. lol @ you using Femi’s tie!

    I never realized how big a deal hair was for some women until the team natural Vs team relaxer war on blogsville a few weeks ago. On one side are those who believe that you should wear your hair natural, because relaxing it means you “AGREE that you were made defective”, while you have those who think relaxed hair is convenient and easier to manage on the other.

    I think it’s a choice. Find what works for you and enjoy the journey.
    That’s what I love about your post. You’re working it out on your own terms and having fun doing it… Enjoy yourself and please share some more as you go along.

    xxx

    • Hi love, I agree that it is a choice and each person’s decision/view point will invariably be different. Re; Femi’s tie – It’s called repurposing. Lol. since his love for skinny ties has waxed cold, I am putting them to good use. 🙂

  4. Hair is such a big deal for women and i have had my fair share of hair drama. I am proudly natural now and its the best thing i have ever done. Sadly, the conservative industry that i work in means i have a lot of protective styles on during the week – braids (whole different post i believe). The key is to keep hair as healthy as possible and understand what works for you. For instance, my hair has absolutely no issues with protein while for some of my friends – their hair takes offense and does weird things. All in all, no looking like a hot unkempt mess – relaxed or natural

    • Uzzzzz!!! Lol @ “no looking like a hot unkempt mess”!! But I agree. Yes, hair is very important to a woman; it forms a good part of her physical identity. Thanks love

  5. I am not a great fan of relaxing my hair every month either but if I do it just once a year, I’d scare people away starting with my family!

    • Lol! So funny! I don’t expect everyone to follow the exact hair regime; you have to figure out what works best for you 🙂

  6. Grooming natural hair is a lot of work especially if you’re working. Some mornings, you’re just at a loss as to what to make of it especially on day you decide to ditch the weaves and cornrows.

    Im on the natural journey too and im loving every bit of it, except offcourse when the stylist is acting up!

  7. Grooming natural hair is a lot of work especially if you’re working. Some mornings, you’re just at a loss as to what to make of it especially on day you decide to ditch the weaves and cornrows.

    Im on the natural journey too and im loving every bit of it, except offcourse when the stylist is acting up!

  8. hey nkem!!!!!
    you are such a wonder!, i have never thought of the versatility of a tie apart from around a man’s neck, that is really insightful.. atleast now, i have found a new use for all these colourful ties at home!

    To the hair, I like you have been through it all, and finally i also came to the same conclusion as you. now i retouch once a year! at most twice and you should see the amazing results i have… my hair is now so long, thick , full of lustre and very healthy. And that is my recommendation to every woman. retouch once or touch and for the most part, extensions will do…

    • Yes my dear! They are versatile and tres chic!!! Can’t wait to see your versions! Lol! Our poor hubbies!! Would love to see a head shot showcasing your fab hair. You’ve always had beautiful hair. xxxx

  9. hey nkem!! interesting post here!!

    After yet another relationship breakup last year, i cut off my luscious hair and locd the undergrowth. a year later and 2 dye jobs, my locs are no longer a hairstyle but a lifestyle. it hasnt been easy i must confess and several times i nearly cut off the locs. not because i couldnt take care of it but because the society tends to think you are a woman with loose morals and irresponsible.

    i have had to cover up my locs when visiting another ‘ex’s’ parents just to make sure that i do not give them the wrong impression. even my mum who approved of the locs earlier in the growth has begun to whine about it……

    i do agree that it takes a bold person to go natural or even thread my path so i applaud your versatility in changing your looks and especially the retouch once a year move….

    lovely write up…but hey!! everything you touch turns to gold..i’m sure you know that already right?

    • My darling Tomi! You are such a peach! Thank you. I love your locs. I think you manage them amazingly well and they suit you so much. Shame on anyone who judges you by your hair. So what would the reaction have been if you were sporting a rainbow coloured mow hawk? I think you are a stylish diva!

  10. Hello Nkem.

    I just stumbled on your blog via naijawives and I am loving it. I was at home nursing my little pumpkin. In fact I had to bookmark it as a regular go-to blog. Meanwhile I need your email addy, eager to share with you a pic of how I rocked hubby’s old tie:)

    Will definitely be trying my hands on the different meals.

    Another follower in the pocket…thumbs up.

    • Hi Sola! So nice to meet you! Thank you for visiting the blog. I am glad you like it. Please feel free to leave comments. I will be happy to help with any recipes you like. My email address is dilim21@yahoo.com Can’t wait to see the pic. Kisses to your pumpkin and well done!

Leave a Reply

