Sunny Sunday with a Sundae

I enjoy trawling the net for recipes, sifting through endless information that I can use as inspiration in my food making experiments. So you can imagine my joy when I found Caroline’s food blog a few days ago. Her mango ice cream was a recipe I knew I was fated to make especially since my mum had just supplied me with a basket full of mangoes.

In case you hadn’t guessed by now; I love mangoes and with the onset of the rains signaling the end of the reign of mangoes for this season I couldn’t have chosen a better way to commemorate this fruit. This would be the first time I have ever attempted to make this kind of dessert and I was nervous and excited.

20120528-052312.jpg

The recipe was simple enough and it took no time at all to put it all together.

20120528-052553.jpg

I don’t own an ice cream maker so I had to churn the ice cream by hand periodically before letting it set in the freezer. It may sound laborious but trust me, you don’t know hard labour until you have to fend off a six foot sweet tooth. Yes, my ever willing food sampler of a husband was more than feverish with anticipation at the prospect of sampling this homemade treat; come to think of it, so was my gelato-loving friend who lived next door 🙂

Caroline had indicated that the ice cream worked well when it followed a curry based meal and since I had some left over coconut milk, I decided to make a curry for lunch.

20120528-060628.jpg

Before serving up the dessert, I prepared a chilli syrup which would be topping. I had never had chilli and ice cream before so I was keen to try it.

20120528-061128.jpg

When I took the first spoonful, the burst of flavour took me by surprise. The cold sweet full bodied mango flavour with a subliminal tangy hint of lime married well with the chewy slivers of ruby red chilli which provided a warm heat. The coconut milk gave this treat a lovely velveteen texture and the syrup finished it off with a glassy sheen. All these elements combined made for a very refreshing, pretty-looking dessert.

20120528-062327.jpg

After hubby had polished off the last spoonful, he declared rather theatrically (think Shakespeare play) that he would never look at ice cream the same way again.

And so I thought to myself, “Well then, if this could bring out the Shakespeare in him, I’d better uncover another dessert gem to make and fast!”

And so commences my dessert making chronicles.

TIP OF THE DAY: When a recipe calls for the use of a specific type of sugar you may substitute it for another type. However ensure that they have similar qualities such as texture and colour. For instance, I substituted icing sugar for caster sugar in this recipe but I used more icing sugar because it is not typically as sweet as cast sugar.

June 2, 2012

By popular demand, mostly by hubby, I have an encore of this delight-some dessert. This time though I have made the dairy version by incorporating lashings of cream as well as coconut milk. The topping is a double treat with chilli syrup and desiccated coconut.

20120602-180049.jpg

20120602-180211.jpg

6 thoughts on “Sunny Sunday with a Sundae

    • It was quite delicious! I am ramping up for an encore, this time a dairy version. Will let you know …… Stay tuned 🙂

  1. Your description leaves me salivating…. I will have to try this recipe, cant imagine chili on something sweet but i take your word for it. You will have to make some for us when Ed, Anx and Mims are home purleese….

    • The combination of heat and sweet is phenom! Would love to make it for you and the kiddie winkles. I hope mangoes will still be in season though….

  2. Chilli n ice Cream, Hot n Cold
    Sounds divine

    Making ice cream with no ice cream maker sounds like hard work though or am I just lazy. Lol

Leave a Reply

