Independently Speaking

Every time there’s a holiday like Saint Patrick’s day, Mardi gras or a national Independence celebration, I am inspired to make a meal to commemorate the occasion. I am neither Irish nor French but that hasn’t stopped me from making such meals as I did in my “Full Steam Ahead” post.

October 1 is Nigeria’s Independence Day and the opportunity presented itself for another fun food lab activity.

I made Dafaduka, a Nigerian Rice dish, which was well received at my son’s school on their Independence/national day party. This one pot wonder is no fuss but packs maximum flavour.

20140311-231405.jpg

Recipe for Dafaduka

4 tbs Palm oil
4 cups of Rice
1 tinned plum tomatoes or 5 fresh tomatoes – chopped
1 tbs Cameroun peppers (dry)
2 Scotch bonnet peppers
1 medium Dry fish
1 onion
1 tbs dry ginger (fresh gingermaybe used if available)
1 Dawada (dry locust bean patty)
Chicken stock or water
Salt to taste

Method

Wash rice thoroughly, drain and put in a pot. Chop tomatoes, scotch bonnet peppers and onions.

Add oil, chopped ingredients and dry spices to the pot except the salt and dry fish. Break up fish and steep in hot water for about 10 minutes. Drain, then carefully take out all visible bones and set aside. Add stock or water (quantity of liquid will depend on the type if rice.

I used jasmine rice which cooks quickly. Add some salt and taste for salt at the end of cooking. Put the pot on and bring to a boil the reduce to simmer until rice is tender.

Add boned dry fish half way through cooking. Serve accompanied by dodo or simply enjoy on its own.

There you have it, a veritable Nigerian dish and a throw back to my childhood.

I saw an interesting recipe for Marsala chicken that I knew I had to try andΒ the end result at the dinner table was happy smiles all around πŸ™‚

20131002-162622.jpg

Marsala Chicken Recipe

Ingredients
4 chicken breasts, boneless & skinless,
1/2 cup flour,
Salt to taste
Pepper to taste
Dried oregano to taste
4 Tbsp oil
4 Tbsp butter or margarine
2 cups fresh mushrooms, sliced
1 clove of garlic (chopped)
2 tsps dry chili flakes (optional)
1 cup Marsala wine

Method
Pound chicken breasts between sheets of plastic wrap until about 1/4″ thickness.
COMBINE flour, salt, pepper and oregano in a mixing bowl. Dredge chicken pieces in the flour, shaking off any excess.
HEAT oil and butter in a skillet over medium heat. Cook chicken breasts on medium heat for about 2 minutes on the first side, until lightly browned. Turn breasts over to cook other side, then add mushrooms, garlic and chili to the skillet. Cook breasts about 2 more minutes, until both sides are lightly browned. Continue to stir mushrooms.

Add Marsala wine around chicken pieces. Cover and simmer for about 15 minutes. Transfer to serving plate.

Serve with side of your choice, I chose boiled potatoes, grilled aubergines and blanched mange touts.

Please note, I could not find Marsala wine so used a combination of a dry white wine and white grape juice. You could also use Madeira wine if you find it.

All in all it was an enjoyable holiday.

On to the next conquest!

8 thoughts on “Independently Speaking

    • It’s from Northern Nigeria. It’s like party Jolson rice made with Palm oil, dry flush and dawadawa (dry locust bean)

  1. Hello Nkemdilim,

    Over the weekend I made the Dafaduka rice and to say its awesome is an understatement. In fact my mouth did not leave that pot of rice till I remembered the cloths in my closet! I had to share with a friend and she liked it too. I used fresh dawada since I can’t get the dry one where I am and it still turned out great. But maybe next time I will blend it so that it will not be seen in the rice.
    Thank you so much for sharing this recipe and I will be visiting often to learn new ones or how to add a twist to the ones I already know.
    Enjoy your day.

    • Thanks for the feed back! I am so so happy that you enjoyed it! It truly is an interesting dish. We’ll done! Locust bean works well too but it helps if you blend it as you mentioned! I look forward to hearing more about your escapades! Enjoy the holiday coming up!

  2. So here is my feedback on the dafaduka as promised. It turned out great. I added some jumbo snail. I have pictures but I can’t seem to be able to upload them on here. Will try on SYTYCC

    • I am completely chuffed! Will go to the group to see the pic. Will also figure out why pictures cannot be uploaded in the comment box here. Thanks for sharing your experience. Feel free to try as many recipes on here as you like! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

