Rummily Scrummily

This past weekend was filled with all manners of cooking activities and the chief ingredient was Jamaican Rum.

No, I am not a closet alcoholic, and no I do not need to join AA but I Must say that it proved to be an interesting ingredient to work with.

In Saturday morning, I decided that a decadent breakfast was the only way to kick off the weekend so I made banana bread French toast, with rum flambéd bananas and caramel sauce.

20140409-002004.jpg

The recipe is simple enough to follow.

Ingredients (for one portion)

2 thick slices of banana bread
1 egg (beaten)
1/4 cup milk
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 big banana
3 tablespoons rum
1/4 cup cream
3 tablespoons brown sugar
Butter (about 3 tablespoons)

The How To
Combine milk, cinnamon and milk in bowl and set aside. Heat a pan and add about 11/2 tbs of butter until butter melts, lower the heat. Dip sliced banana bread in egg mixture and allow it to soak up the mixture for a few seconds on both sides. Transfer to the pan and turn the heat up to medium. Cook each side for about 2 minutes or until golden brown. Take off the heat and keep French toast in a warm oven.

Slice bananas chunkily and set aside. In the same pan add the rest of the butter and melt on medium heat as the it begins to sizzle add bananas stir for a minute and add the rum. Tilt the pan carefully towards the open flame until the rum ignites. Set the pan upright and allow the alcohol to cook off. When the flame the pan self extinguishes take out the bananas and set aside. Add the brown sugar and cream stirring constantly. Allow to thicken and take off the heat.

Serve flambéd bananas on top of the French toast with a dollop of cream and a drizzle of the sauce. This is a real family treat.

20140409-002307.jpg

Buoyed by my successful tango with the drink in the morning I decided in the evening that I would tackle the almighty rum cake recipe.

You might wonder what us unique about the recipe. Well it started a couple of months ago when I was chatting with a food enthusiast and she raved about Turtuga rum cake. Now to be honest before that conversation I didn’t even know that there was a place on earth called Turtuga or that their rum cake was a global phenomenon. There and then I decided I would make mine!

After scouring various recipes, I settled on one that promised to yield a cake that was as close to the Turtuga one. The recipe can be found here.

The only ingredient I omitted was the walnuts simply because I didn’t have any.

The cake isn’t complicated to put together but you have to be patient when drizzling the rum syrup over it.
image

My cake was as drunk as a skunk and I didn’t use up the recommended amount of syrup.

I exercised a lot if restraint and didn’t attack the cake until the next day. It was impossibly moist and luxurious tasting.

image

We had it with rum and raisin ice cream; what else? ! 🙂

image

If you can please give this recipe a go.

4 thoughts on “Rummily Scrummily

Leave a Reply

