I baked the kitchen sink and called it a cookie

I love developing recipes whether I am making them from scratch or personalising an existing one; it is always a thrill! In the FFF FLab is where the magic happens!

So during my usual web wanderings, I found a recipe for pumpkin oatmeal choc chip cookies! I held my breath not daring to breathe as I skimmed the ingredient list. Sure enough I had every single item required!!!

As I raided my pantry, my eyes fell on some desiccated coconut, then I saw the canister of cayenne pepper and cloves looking dejected; so I grabbed those. Ooooh and there was this bag of mixed nuts and dried fruit! Why not?! I snatched those as well.

When I looked at my heap, I wasn’t sure how it would turn out but I would find out soon!
You can find the original recipe here. Now for my kitchen sink version!

Ingredients

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup quick oats
1/2 cup dessicated coconut
1 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt
1 3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1/4 tsp ground cloves
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp cayenne pepper
1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 1/3 cups packed light-brown sugar
2/3 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup canned pumpkin puree (on this occasion I used canned but for a step by step on how to. Are your own pumpkin purΓ©e, which I recommend, read my post “Easy as Pie 2″

1 3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 cup chopped mixed nuts and dried fruit

The “How to”

Preheat oven to 170 degrees Celcious. Whisk together the flour, oats, coconut, baking soda, salt, cayenne, cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger in a large mixing bowl for 30 about seconds and set aside.

In the bowl of an electric mixer, whip together butter, brown sugar and granulated sugar until creamy (unless you’re aiming to build your biceps, please use an electric mixer πŸ˜€); pause occasionally to scrape down the sides of the bowl. Then add in the egg, when it is incorporated blend in vanilla extract and pumpkin puree. With the mixer set on low speed, slowly add in dry ingredients and mix until combined. Mix in chocolate chips and nut and fruit mix. Let batter rest for a few minutes; 5 – 10 minutes should do it. This will give the oats some time to absorb the liquids so that batter isn’t too sticky. Laos it helps the cookies to hold their shape as they bake.

Scoop dough out 2 Tbsp at a time and drop onto parchment paper lined baking sheets, spacing cookies 2-inches apart. Bake in preheated oven for 12 – 14 minutes.

Now this step is crucial; allow the to cool on the baking sheet for at least 5 several minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely. Now you can munch away.

This recipe yields a chewy cookie but is oh so good. With just the slightest hint of warmth from the cayenne. It is a surprising experience. Something you wouldn’t ordinarily expect in a cookie.

Let me tell you, this cookie had everything AND the kitchen sink in it! Lol!

It was studded with choc chip, nuts and dried fruit like a bejeweled or even blinged out treat!

IMG_3203.JPG

IMG_3201.JPG

IMG_3200.JPG

If you live in North America, this recipe would be great for the upcoming Thanksgiving Holidays or afterwards when you won’t know what to do with all the pumpkin-ey left overs. You should try it!

You don’t have to live in North America to try it though πŸ˜€

FFF Tip of the Day

Whenever possible, make your own purΓ©e; it is so easy! Check it out here.

5 thoughts on “I baked the kitchen sink and called it a cookie

    • Yep that’s one way to out it! Lol! Talking of blinged out you should check out my fb page for utterly blinged out desserts πŸ™‚

  1. Hi Nkem.

    I really love your cookies and all your delightful recipes. They inspire, I just hope I will start to cook like you soon. Went to same secondary school with you. Regards to chichi.

Leave a Reply

