Zoodles are not noodles and certainly not for poodles

A very silly title for a food post, I know, but this has been lying around in my drafts for so long that I thought, “what the heck?” I’ll post it! Who says blogging has to b perfect? (The little voice in my head does but today, DAMN THE LITTLE VOICE!! ….rant over….)

So over the past few weeks I have been stuffing myself and my family with zoodles. Zoodles are made from zucchini or courgettes. You make them by shredding the zucchini to look like noodles or spaghetti, cook them quickly with a combo of condiments of your choice and voila! A quick yummy meal that is healthy and colourful!

You may be saying to yourself, “I don’t have time to shred anything before I eat it” but I promise, it takes no time at all. You can make zoodles with a shredding tool (pictured below) or a box grater, a mandolin of if you really want to go the fancy route, you could use a spiralizer…..remember though that cleaning the spiralizer may take the joy out of the meal. Also watch your fingers when washing up your mandolin!!

In fact if you don’t have any of these, but have a very sharp knife and matching knife skills you can julliene the courgettes to achieve the safe effect!

IMG_3868

IMG_3866

If you opt to use a box grater, you basically want to use the side with the largest holes. Lie the box grater on its side with the section you want to use facing up, the take your rinsed zucchini and drag it across the surface away from you.

To be honest there is no “recipe” for this meal. I recommend that you incorporate what ever you like. In some preparations I included chicken, some fish, some boiled eggs, carrots, crayfish, Ugu (shredded pumpkin leaves), broccoli, garlic, onions, lemons and even cheese!

IMG_4111

IMG_3864

I will share what has been my favourite combo and you can use that as a blank canvas for yours!

Ingredients

2 medium sized zucchini
1 1/2 tbs vegetable oil (I used sunflower oil)
1 small chopped red onion or 7 pearl onions (very fiddly to peel though)
2 cloves garlic (finely minced)
1 medium shredded carrot
1 small bunch of Ugu (rinsed and julienned finely)
1/2 cooked chopped chicken breast
8 cooked broccoli florets
1 scotch bonnet pepper (seeded and chopped)
1 bird’s eye chilli (seeded and chopped)
2 boiled eggs
2 spring onions (finely chopped)
Juice of half a lemon
1 tbs sesame seeds (optional)
Salt to taste

(The amount of chilli you use is entirely up to you! you can use more or less depending on how much heat you can stand!)

The “How To”

The trick to really getting this meal together is to have ll your ingredients prepped and ready. It comes together very quickly and you do t want to over cook the zoodles so it doesn’t become soggy. It doesn’t really affect the taste…..it’s really an aesthetic matter….
In a thick bottomed skillet heat the oil until it is very hot then quickly add in your chopped onions and garlic (leave the spring onions out at this stage). Stir for a few seconds then add in carrots, chicken, peppers, Ugu, crayfish and broccoli. Then add in the zoodles. Stir for a few seconds…..just under a minute. Then turn off the heat. Squeeze the lemon juice over it and add the spring onions.

Serve immediately with boiled eggs on the side and sprinkle sesame seeds over the dish.

IMG_4132

IMG_4124

IMG_4129

It doesn’t get much easier than that I assure you!

Now I leave you with some my other zoodles variations. Bon appetit!

IMG_4091

IMG_3887

IMG_4066

FFF Tip Of The Day

When your shredding your zucchini, be careful to stop once you can see the seeds, flip it round and shred the the over sides.

6 thoughts on “Zoodles are not noodles and certainly not for poodles

  1. Oh dear Nkem. All I did was show my cook the photos of the finished product and bam! He made me a plate.

    Luscious combo. I loved it. Well done girl.

  2. Awesome. No reading this blog when I’m fasting. You’re right about cleaning the spiralizer. Haven’t touched it in ages

    • Lol! Some contraptions are just tedious. I mean, it yields amazing results but such a bother to maintain!

Leave a Reply

