Say Cheese!

I adore cheesecakes! I don’t love what they do to my waist line but hey what you gain at the bend, you lose at the roundabout……

Unless you are lactose intolerant or on a low GI diet or Vegetarian…..in fact unless you are an alien life form, you must try this dessert at least once.

The best part is that is so versatile that there adaptations that suit some dietary needs; it could be gluten-free by replacing the biscuit base with a crushed nut mixture; in my earlier post, I shared on how I have used a Northern Nigerian snack called dakuwa as a base in my cheesecakes and it could also have reduced by substituting the sugar for a healthier sweetener.

You might think, “Well I don’t want a big, FAT cheesecake lurking in my fridge; then say hello to mini cheesecakes!

Essentially there is no excuse not to try this! There are two types of cheesecakes; the baked version and the non-baked version.

Technically, there is nothingΒ  easier that mixing all the ingredients up and putting it in the fridge to set which is all the no-bake cheesecake requires but I personally prefer the texture and flavour of the baked counterpart. I have made the no-bake version so I say this from an informed point of view πŸ™‚ Here’s the cake in question in all it’s unbaked chocolatey fabulousness.

The only nerve-wracking aspect of making a whole cheesecake is ensuring that when you place it in the bain marie (the water bath) that the cake tin is securely wrapped in at least two layers of foil; this will prevent the water from seeping in and ruining the base.

Speaking of bases, EXPLORE!!! I have made cheese cakes, with graham crackers, Digestives, Oreos, brownies and dakuwa. They are a truly magical dessert.

These were made with an Oreo cookie base and the filling was infused with Amarula. Take a load of that thick luscious chocoate ganache!

As far as toppings go, nothing is off-limits, let your taste lead you I say! πŸ™‚ As long as the flavours are in balance it will be amazing.

At the start of the year, I designed what I call the ying-yang cheesecake which is has two complementing flavours in one cake and it has been a massive hit with FFF clients!

And if you don’t believe me just look at these pictures.

 

I leave you now with……..no, not the recipe πŸ™‚ but with glorious pictures.

If you want a slice of the action, all you need to do is place an order by sending an email to nkem.o@foodandfashionfusion.com

We will be delighted to bake your day sweeter!

 

Leave a Reply

